2014 Award Winners

The IHEEM 2014 Award Ceremony was held on Tuesday 18th November 2014 at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. A report on the award ceremony can be found in the January edition of the HEJ.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Alex Black


Presented by Chris Northey (Left), IHEEM President

Following over 45 years of working within the NHS, Alex has announced his retirement. He retired from the health service in 1994, and joined WS Atkins to re-establish the role of the Authorising Engineer in Scotland. On joining IHEEM, he was accepted as a Fellow and Incorporated Engineer, later being granted Chartered status. His contribution over the last 45 years has been invaluable to Medical Gases in the health service. The high standards he expected of 'his' Authorised Persons in Scotland and further afield is well known and still holds true today.

 John Bolton Momorial Award

 Mike Arrowsmith


Accepted by Mike Arrowsmith
Presented by Nick Ray (Left)
Sponsored by Cynergin


Geoff is held in high regard for his work in the NHS (Medical Physics Department) and Eastwood Park for his contribution to the industry. He is very well respected and was unfortunately unable to attend to accept his award in person.

Northcroft Silver Medal

James elston


Presented by Graham Dear (Left)
Sponsored by Spixax Sarco

502 spirax

This year’s winning article was published in the Health Estate Journal in November 2013 and received high acclaim for its interest and relevance regarding infection control, HEJ Nov13 PP45-50.

Lucas Scholarship Award (1)

Alan Gascoine


Presented by Richard Fee (Left)
Sponsored by Turner Facilities Management

TFM Logo RGB Background

Alan has served IHEEM as a dedicated member for over 25 years and has served in the roles of Branch Treasurer, Secretary and is currently Chairperson for the London and South East Branch.

 Lucas Scholarship Award (2)

 Graham Jones


Presented by Paul Willett (Left)
Sponsored by Trend Controls


Graham is an outstanding individual who has for many years worked promoting the institute and the profession of healthcare Engineering across the UK. He is the Wales Branch Chairman and has never sought any personal recognition for his efforts, working tirelessly arranging events and meetings.

 William E Schall Award

 William E Schall - Daniel Couzens


Presented by Chris Northey, IHEEM President (Right)
With dinner guest Fabrice Muamba (Left)

Presented at the Healthcare Estates Dinner 2014